REST

REST. This has been one of the two big themes God has been working on in my heart.  It’s been my heart’s cry for many years now, and for so long my heart has felt heavy and weary and in desperate need of rest.  But I kept fighting God’s REST.  Don’t ask me why, that’s a whole different post in itself.  But I’ve been continuing to “do” things for the Lord instead of “being” with the Lord, instead of resting in the Lord.  So this week I dug deeper into what REST really meant.  The dictionary describes REST as:

 

“Freedom from activity or labor, something used for support, relief or freedom, especially from anything that wearies, troubles, or disturbs.”

REST.  That one little word has such a big implication for my heart.  REST brings FREEDOMREST is freedom FROM weariness and troubles.  REST is SUPPORT.  You see when I’m not resting in God, I’m not living in freedom.  When I choose to do things on my own strength and not rest in God, I’m shackling myself to burdens I shouldn’t be carrying, I’m chaining myself to hindrances that keep me from doing what I’m called to do and from entering fully in God’s presence.  When I’m not resting in Jesus, I’m not trusting Him, I’m not relying on Him; that’s a harsh truth for my heart, but its truth nonetheless.

Romans 11: 17-18 says,

“But if some of the branches were broken off, and you , although a wild olive shoot, were grafted in among the others and now share in the nourishing root of the olive tree, do not be arrogant toward the branches.  If you are, remember it is not you who support the root, but the root that SUPPORTS you.”

REST 6(Tree at the entryway of the Farmers Market downtown)

I can do good things for God.  But too often I try to do them on my own.  It’s as if in a weird way I’m saying to God that I’ll support what He’s doing and jump in with Him, as if He needs my help to accomplish it.  Instead, my perspective should be to REST in Him.  When I rest in Him, He is my SUPPORT, He is the one who supports me to do all the things He has created me to do.  God is my SUPPORT.  When I REST in Him, I can do GREAT things WITH Him.

Matthew 11:28-29 it says,

“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you REST.  Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find REST for your souls.”

 

REST 1(My Bible – love digging into His Word)

So how do we find REST?  We COME to Him.  We take His YOKE.  We LEARN from Him.  That’s how we find REST.  It’s so simple.  We far too often make things overcomplicated, REST is one of those things my heart has overcomplicated, but God is faithful and has begun the good work of simplifying things for my heart to absorb.  He’s so good like that.

When I think of this passage with the true definition of REST in mind, it sounds something like this:  “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you FREEDOM and SUPPORT.  Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find FREEDOM and SUPPORT for your souls.”

Breathe that in soul weary friends.  Let the Holy Spirit sing that over your heart.  God does not call you, me, or any of us to a life of burden, despair, and heaviness of heart.  He calls us to REST in Him.

At the end of chapter one of Genesis we read the story of God making man in His own image, after His own likeness and He blessed them.  Then He told them to be fruitful and multiply and have dominion over the land and at the end of the sixth day He not only said it was good, but that it was VERY good.  Then on the seventh day, God had finished His work and then He did something.  He RESTED.  Genesis 2:3 says, “So God blessed the seventh day and made it holy, because on it God rested from all His work that He had done in creation.”

REST 3(Gecko at the Farmers Market)

REST 2(Close up)

After six days, God RESTED.  After our creation, we were meant to enter into REST with God.  God made the garden, all the earth and all that’s in the earth and then told Adam to REST and ENJOY.  It’s not about doing, but about being.  A big piece of REST that I have been missing is the ENJOYMENT of who God is.  My time here at YWAM Kona has been a season of entering REST and of learning to ENJOY God.  I feel like God is romancing my heart.  I’m learning that not only does He enjoy, but He longs for me to ENJOY HIM.  It’s such a simple and crazy idea, but sure enough I’m falling more in love with Him each day.  Every morning is a new opportunity to find FREEDOM and SUPPORT in the Love of my Soul’s arms.  Each minute is another minute I get to ENJOY my Creator, my Father, my Savior, my Friend, my Comforter, my PLACE OF REST, FREEDOM, SUPPORT and ENJOYMENT.

REST 4(Sweet friends Jill and Grace)

What is God teaching you sweet friends?  What chains are you shackling to yourself each morning that God so desperately wants to take off you?  What way is Holy Spirit whispering enjoyment into your heart today?  How are you RESTING in Him?  As I sit here typing this up and thinking of you dear ones, I find such ENJOYMENT of knowing you, thinking of you and praying for you.

Mahalo Friends

One thought on “REST

  1. Great post! I just found your blog from Country Christian Girls and I really like it! Keep on blogging!

    ~Maddy from maddysdigitaldiary.wordpress.com and girlslivingforgodsglory.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a comment